Middletown Thrall Library Inspires You to indugle... BEYOND THE BESTSELLERS: Delectable selections and savory stories often not found on bestseller lists! Winter 2010 Edition

You can pick up a printed editions at Middletown Thrall Library.

Check out our Booklovers Web Guide for sites especially helpful to readers: book clubs, reading groups, book discussions, reviews, reading advisories, publishers, bookstores, and more!

Keep up with forthcoming titles and new authors by visiting our Booklovers Blog.

Looking for something "good" to read? Or is there a book you really like and want to tell others about? Check out Thrall's own free RAVES! service for readers.

Find bibliographic information for over 5 million book, audio book, and video titles in Books In Print: Patron Edition, or browse by subject, author, or book awards. Login using your Thrall Library card.

Have you tried NOVELIST yet? Find books and authors based on ones you like. Login using your Thrall Library card.

Looking for suggestions? Stop by our Readers' Advisory Center by Reference or ask a librarian for recommendations on what you might like to read next.

Also check out our Random Reads page for totally random titles, authors, and other topics you might want to read!

Every year the library hosts book discussions open to the public. Ask to be added to our mailing list or stop by the library to find out what's in the works!

Click here to find out what other free programs are currently scheduled at Thrall.

Click here to view current bestseller lists and other news items of possible interest to you.

Past Issues

Missed a past issue of Beyond the Bestsellers? Click below for previous BTBs and more reading recommendations:

We invite you to consider any of the titles below the next time you're looking for something interesting to read. To learn more about a book and check on its availablity within the library system, click a title link below.

You can also click on an author's name to see if any additional titles by that author are available in the library system.

Some book records in the library catalog have additional links you can click to learn more about the book and the author. Some titles even have chapter excerpts that you can read online!

Scroll down and browse by genre to begin!


  • Roses - Leila Meacham. An old fashioned saga in the tradition of Edna Ferber, Roses tells the twentieth century story of a small East Texas town and its feuding founding families.
  • Summertime - J. M. Coetzee. A fictionalized conclusion to Nobel laureate Coetzee's autobiographical works Boyhood and Youth, this novel details a would-be biographer's interviews with five people who knew the late author "John Coetzee." Kirkus notes "the real Coetzee's austere integrity and terse candor make this the best yet of his ongoing self-interrogations."

Other titles to consider:


  • The Lute Player - Norah Lofts. The Third Crusade and Richard the Lionhearted are captured in dazzling detail in this historical romance of the king's lute player, Blondel.
  • The Anarchist - John Smolens. Readers who enjoy leisurely paced character driven fiction will be richly rewarded by this story of the assassination of President McKinley. Smolens creates a moving portrait of America at the turn of the twentieth century.

Other titles to consider:


  • Elegy Beach - Steven Boyett. Thirty years after magic made science a thing of the past, Yan wants to reverse the Change. Will he succeed, or can Peter and the unicorn Ariel stop him?
  • Shades of Grey - Jasper Fforde. Jasper Fforde is so extraordinarily clever he can even make post-apocalyptic fiction funny. The author of the Thursday Next and Nursery Crimes novels has launched a new series set in a world where color rules.

Other titles to consider:


  • Requiem in Vienna - J. Sydney Jones. Someone in the opera house wants to kill Gustav Mahler. This compelling mystery set in Vienna in 1899 includes wonderful historical details and a multilayered story. Those looking for sophisticated entertainment should enjoy.
  • Faces of the Gone - Brad Parks. Newark Eagle-Examiner investigative reporter Carter Ross is forced to play detective when he feels his paper is going after the wrong story in a gangland style murder of four. Readers won't be able to resist Carter whose zeal for the truth and love for the newspaper game add to his appeal.

Other mysteries to consider:


  • Bell Ringers - Henry Porter
  • Former British spy Kate Lockhart's ex-lover David Eyam has been killed in a terrorist bombing in Columbia. Stunned by his naming her his beneficiary, Kate is soon embroiled in unraveling a sinister plot involving the data-mining system David had set up for the prime minister before his death. This chilling political thriller should appeal to fans of Brad Thor and David Baldacci.
Other thrillers to consider:

Home | Blogs | Catalog | Databases |
Ask a Librarian | Booklovers Guide | Literature Guide

Beyond the Bestsellers Copyright © 2010 Middletown Thrall Library

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional     Valid CSS!